A typical Monday with ADHD

Warning: This is a lengthy one but hilarious if you have, or know anyone that has, Adult ADHD.
(Then again, if it is you that has adult ADHD, you likely won’t make it to the end of the story anyways. LOL)

The Story of My Mondays – Told by Me, an ADHD mother, wife and business owner

Prelude
First, you need to know that Mondays are my days off. In fact, many weeks they are my only days off and I generally feel a great deal of pressure to make them count.

Next, this is not a story of a particular Monday so much as it is simply an example of a typical Monday for me. Pieces of this story have been collected from my memory and I write them down as they pop up. Then with a lot of effort I took these stories from several different days and arranged them together to make an entire day. On a relative scale of 1 to 10 (10 being the worst Monday in history) this story will represent a more typical yet slightly drama filled type of Monday for me. I will rate it a 7 or an 8. The rest of this Prelude section will include a detailed “Real Time” running narrative of what’s going on while I am trying to even put this story to paper.

Mondays are typically…
– (forgot to open Cockatoos cage, get up and open, talk to bird, return to computer, “Where was I?”, Oh yes)
Mondays are typically my only day off. As each week progresses my “Monday To Do” list grows and grows.
– (my dog is so cute, look at him running circles chasing his tail that he doesn’t even have. “Back to the story Wanda”)
By the time Monday comes around my To Do List is a mile long…
– (Omg, its Monday and this story isn’t on my To Do list, which means IF I finish it I will have nothing to cross off and feel proud about. That would be a shame. Pick up my phone, Add to To Do List, see that I have email and get sidetracked with email for about 30 minutes)
… Anyways, I feel like it may be impossible to complete the Monday To Do List but if I don’t get it done the next week will only add more and more to it.
– (Beep Beep, oh look someone texted me……….. 15 minutes go by)
– (“Where was I?” Re-read Paragraph that I’ve written and I find that I’ve skipped words or letters so I correct it)

So every Sunday night I set my alarm early for Monday morning because I am determined to FINALLY conquer “The Monday List”.
-(Speaking of that, I can’t believe I slept an hour past my alarm this morning, that was NOT productive!! ….. proceed to think about all the things I could have done during that hour instead of sleep in…. some time passes, I’m not sure how much because I wasn’t paying attention)
Even though the ominous “To Do List” has never been fully conquered on a Monday in the past 20 years, nevertheless, I am hopeful today will be the day.
-(There… I managed to get the opening paragraph completed…… I better re-read it)

Okay, now that you get the idea of how hard and/or time consuming this has been to write I will continue through the Monday story skipping the “Real time” Narrative. But you can pretty much assume that this pattern has been going on throughout the entire story.

CHAPTER 1
6:58AM I beat my alarm awake. Good start. It’s Monday morning and as soon as my eyes open my mind is swirling with all the things I need and want to accomplish today. This is the day that I am going to get EVERYTHING on the list done!!! At the end of this day that list will be EMPTY!!

7:00AM I grab the phone to turn off the alarm but there is a message from Facebook. So I log in and read the message, then I browse the News feed, update my status, chuckle at a few things…..

8:00AM I look at the time. YIKES!! I’ve been on Facebook for an hour, now I’m late. I jump out of bed. I start getting dressed and notice my favorite pants are dirty. I need to do laundry, that’s on the list, so I might as well start. I grab up a bunch of darks, head to the laundry room and throw them in. Looks like there is more room. So I head back to the bedroom for more laundry when I see my unopened Ice Tea on the counter in the kitchen. I’m going to want that cold later so I put it in the refrigerator. But while putting it in the refrigerator I notice the week old Pizza box. That’s right! I need to clean out this fridge before I go grocery shopping. So I start by grabbing the pizza box and taking it to the garage trash can. Except teetering on the top the trash can is the shopping bag with the Hamster food in it that I bought yesterday. Well, I better take that into Jacob’s bedroom and put it in the container since they are almost out of food. I leave the pizza box on the ground and grab up the food bag. I’m pouring the Hamster food in the fresh seal container I have next to the cage when the refrigerator starts beeping because someone left it open. I run back to the refrigerator to close it and stub my big toe on the way there. I manage to close the fridge but now I’m bleeding so I carefully head to the bathroom for a band-aid. As I’m applying the band aid I notice the ring around the bath tub. “Yuck!, I better add that to The List”

9:00AM I pull out my phone to add something to the list but I don’t remember what it was………. Stare at phone……. I need to go potty. While doing this I see the ring on the bathtub again. “Ahh Haa, that was it” I quickly whip out my phone and add it to The List. While on the phone I see that I have an email so I open my email and get lost in email for some time.

9:30AM My legs are numb…… well, that’s because I’m still sitting on the toilet. Silly me. “Back to work!” I walk into the hallway and try to remember what I was working on….. no problem, that’s what The List is for so I open up the phone again and pick something from the list. I pick “Bills”. Okay, I walk to the living room and sit down in front of my laptop to pay some bills. The laptop is not on so I turn it on. Always the over achiever and not wanting to waste time I say to myself “Well, while it’s booting I might as well multi-task and get something else done that’s real quick”. Just then the dog whines. “That’s it, I’ll take the dog out for a quick walk to go potty” heading to the door I realize that I’m not even dressed yet. “Well that will certainly give the neighbors something to talk about” I chuckle and head to the bedroom to finish getting dressed. As I start to get dressed the same thing occurs to me about my favorite pants being dirty. “That’s right!! I was going to start the laundry!!” Opening the two laundry baskets I realize that it needs to be sorted so I began throwing the clothes out of the basket and onto the floor into piles of lights, darks, and delicates. “Eeeek!!!” A spider in the laundry. I run into the kitchen to grab the Raid. I see all the dishes piled up in the sink and say “Shoot, that’s not on my list but I better add it, it’s starting to smell. Well if I don’t add it now I will forget. So Mr. Spider will just have to wait to meet his demise” I set the Raid on the counter and began to look for my phone. Where did I put my phone? Walking around the house.

10:00AM I spot my phone on the couch next to the Laptop which is now booted and waiting for instructions. I sit down with the laptop and somehow I did remember to add “Wash dishes” to my To Do List. “Time for bills.” I say to myself. I start to organize the bills when I notice I have received another email, might as well check it. I get lost in email for a bit.

11:00AM -DING DONG – The doorbell rings. Dog is now barking and the bird is squacking “Who could that be?” “Oh, it’s the end of the first quarter. That’s probably Fed Ex with my quarterly reports for the business that I have to sign for” I get up and head to the door when I realize I’m STILL not dressed!!!! I can’t answer the door and sign for something without any pants on….. Argh. I run as fast as I can to the bedroom to grab some sweats and trip on the first pile of “sorted” clothes I come to near the bedroom door. I am now flailing through the air falling face first towards the ground. Luckily the second pile of dirty clothes softens my landing but before I have time to feel greatful about the second pile of clothes I come nose to nose with Mr. Spider that has been lurking around the laundry pile for the past hour. “Ahhhhhhhhhh!!!” I leap up and backwards. Feeling foolish I say “Stupid little Spider, I’ll teach you” I grab my nearest shoe and promptly take care of the problem. Then I think to myself “I wish THAT had been on The List. *Kill stupid Spider* I would love to be able to check that off”

11:02AM Quickly I get back on task and grab a pair of sweats and throw them on. Trot back down the hallway and open the front door. There is no longer a postman there but instead I see a little yellowish/tan card stuck in the door. I read it: “Sorry we missed you. This is our second attempt. Your package will be available for pick up…….etc etc” I sigh. “Dang it. Now I have to make a trip to the post office this week” Closing the door I shrug “Well, better add that to The List or I will forget” At this point the bird has climbed down off the top of her cage for the third time today and I am very annoyed with her. If I put her back inside her cage she will just scream and carry on so I decide to take her to the bedroom cage where she can safely be put inside and I simply will not hear her from the living room as she screams and carries on. While in the bedroom I see the sorted piles and remember that I still haven’t even started the first load of laundry yet. Talking to myself humorously I say “Oh Wanda, what am I going to do with you?” Scooping up the rest of the darks I take them to the laundry room and add them to the load that has been waiting. I put the soap in and set the dial. -RING RING- Whats that? Oh, it’s my phone AND it’s not only my phone but it is the ring tone specific to my loving and adoring husband who I have been missing since this morning. Not wanting to miss the cherished and rare call I rush back into the living room and answer the phone.
(I did not realize that I had not yet pressed the “Start” button on the washer)
I walk around the house talking on the phone for a bit. My husband had called to remind me about something………. It was pretty important….. but I don’t remember it now. But don’t worry though, because it’s on The List….. I think.
Nearing the end of the conversation he casually invites me to meet him for lunch. I immediately become frustrated. Inside I’m feeling like I would LOVE to run off and meet him for lunch but I can also feel the stress quickly building like a storm.
All these questions like: How much time is that going to waste?
How am I possibly going to finish The List if I’m out flitting around having lunch and idle conversation?
This is the ONE Monday when I was finally going to get it ALL done! I ONLY get one day off a week, I can’t waste it on things of pleasure.
-5 seconds of swirling conflict go by-
My husband says: “Wanda? Are you still there?”
I finally respond in some version of emotional vomit: “Lunch? How do you expect me to go to lunch with all the stuff I have to get done? Do you even realize how much stuff I really do on a daily basis? How can YOU go to Lunch? Aren’t you suppose to be busy? Why am I the only one that’s so busy all the time? If you have so much free time why don’t YOU do the laundry? (sarcastically I continue) Sure…… I would LOVE to go to lunch with you and blow off the rest of my day. But I just can’t. You wanted to know how my day was? Well that’s how it is, I don’t even have that much time, that’s how busy I am.”
My surprised and caught off guard husband says shortly: “okay, sorry I asked. I’ll let you go and talk to you later.”

Somehow it’s now 12:00PM and I’m pacing.
I head back to the couch with my laptop waiting for me. I pause….. “Damn it, there was something I was going to add it to The List…….. what was it?” More pacing. “Damn it, Chris made me forget! Damn damn damn. I wish he hadn’t called.”
– A period of time passes while I reflect inwardly –
Well actually, I don’t know what I wish. I am so glad he called and it was great to hear his voice.
I really wish I could have gone to lunch with him.
I wish I could go to lunch with him on any Monday.
That would be really nice.
I don’t know why I lost it on him.
I didn’t even tell him thanks for reminding me about that thing.
Now he probably thinks I never want to go to lunch with him.
He probably won’t even want to invite me again….. or even call me for that matter.
I’m sad.
But if he just hadn’t upset me so much the conversation would have gone better. I mean seriously, doesn’t he even get a clue of how busy I am all the time? He lives with me for Christ sake, shouldn’t he know?
But I really miss him today.
I really wish I could have been sweeter on the phone to him.
Snapping out of it I say to myself out loud “Your wasting precious time, get going”

12:30PM Upon sitting down I see the Yellowish/tan notice. “That’s it. I was going to add a ‘trip to the Post office” I quickly added it to The List. Then, knowing it might get overlooked and being the responsible person that I am, I even took it a step farther and I added a calendar reminder in my phone to alert me when it is available to be picked up from the Post Office.
Proudly I say “There, done.”
Settling into my computer I begin working on Bills again. In an Amazing turn of events I COMPLETE all the bills through Online Bill Pay. I say to myself “Well, there’s something I can cross off my list”

1:30PM I’m hungry. So I fix myself something to eat. While eating I think “hey, I deserve a little bit of ‘me’ time. Maybe I don’t have enough time to drive over to Chris and go out for lunch but I should at least get a little ME time. I think I should be able to watch one of my pre-recorded TV shows on my day off without feeling guilty. What’s an hour of free time in a whole day off? Can’t hurt. Right? In fact, if I fast forward through the commercials it will only be about 40 minutes. That’s good display of proper time management right there. I’m going to do that.” After 15 minutes of debating the pros and cons I switch on the TV. Engrossed in the TV screen I forget the fact that I can fast forward through the commercials and proceed to watch the whole show from start to finish commercials and all. Although somewhere near the end of the program one of the commercials reminded me of something annoying a client of mine did the other day. I stewed over this annoying act for about 15 minutes looking at it from all different angles and dreaming of all the different ways I would have preferred to handle it including some pretty comical and completely unrealistic solutions. As my show is wrapping up in some sort of devastating “to be continued” next twist I realize that I have missed some of it and don’t completely understand the ending. “Well, that just won’t do. How am I suppose to understand what’s going on in next weeks episode? Let’s just rewind that real quick and take a quick look.”

It is now 3:15PM I am done eating and watching my show.
Feeling a bit guilty and very much behind I pick my chin up and say enthusiastically “Don’t let this set you back. Must get back to working on The List.”
– Beep Beep –
Email notification on my phone. Exsaperrated I say “You know, that is like the 10th email alert in the past hour or so.  know I always say No Emails On Monday but those emails are going to stack up quickly if I don’t just get to it now” Curiousity wins out and I open my laptop again and dive into my emails to find out that I have received the most ridiculous email from an innocent client.
“Are you serious?” I say aloud. Heated and anxious about the email I call my sister to share it with her. Then after she whole heartedly agrees and takes my side I decide I need a second, less biased, opinion so of course I call my best friend. “I know your probably busy but can you believe this?” After she agrees my fire has been fueled. “Well then, I’m just going to have to respond immediately to this foolishness” I begin drafting the reply email educating them on how unreasonable all their outlandish ideas and requests are. yada yada yada, etc etc. The email quickly grows into a lengthy wordy emotional retaliation for every dumb question or request that anybody has ever waisted my time with.
Then, as I always do…… I calm down and re-read the email. I re-read and re-read and after I am satisfied that I have thoroughly expressed myself…………… I delete most of it.
After much time the final draft is much shorter. I have supportively and careful answered their request in a very diplomatic and professional tone. I have light heartedly responded and probably compromised on a couple of points to help keep us both smiling.
I press send.
(Not even realizing that I have basically given them instant gratification and information on my sacred day off, a Monday. And I wonder why everyone expects me to answer on Mondays?? All the while taking up an hour and a half of my precious and ever important TO DO List time.)

4:45PM Moments after hitting send I realize the computer is “stuck”
What is it doing now?
I impatiently strum my fingers on the edge. Is it going to send the dang email or not?
My email disappears and a smaller rectangle window pops up accompanied by a dreadful short audio alarm buzz. It says “Could not complete the task…..something or another… bla bla….. network failed…….” I’m not really sure what it said through the red haze that now covered my vision. It might as well have been greek to me. My husband is the computer savvy guy and I can’t rely on his assistance because for all I know he is still out to lunch somewhere having fun or since he has so much time on his hands maybe he even left work early and is fishing down at the shore. I throw my hands in the air. Great!! Now my email is probably gone. I glance at the time: 4:50. Almost screaming in my mind I think “What? Where has the day gone?” What followed this thought was a string of explicatives which I will spare you. Once again my head is swirling. All the chores, all the important things to get done, so much to do, so little time.

The White Rabbit from Alice in Wonderland flashes through my mind, scurrying down the dirt corridors in his little plaid vest. He whips out his time piece to check the time and desperately proclaims to whoever will listen “I’m late I’m late I’m late”. And now for a moment I am that little white rabbit. Hurriedly and frantically rushing through a fantasy world of nonsense. Fairytale creatures, bright swirling colors of poka dots and stripes. As I hurry, I rush by the Cheshire Cat who is pompously grinning at my failures. Funny looking trees pass by, an oversized mushroom with a crazy looking Catapillar sits wisely on top smoking his hooka. Maybe I should stop and partake? Maybe it will chill me out? NO!! I’m late, I’m late, I’m late. Funny looking cottages and a Tea Party with Hats. All the while fanatically worrying about an agenda that I can’t quite remember but know in my very being is just oh so important.
But now thoughts change to The Great Nothingness that is swallowing every dream ever created. A boy riding his Dog Dragon through the Never Ending Story trying to save what is left of this dream land. But this mythical world is crumbling all around him. Rocks are tumbling down, trees are getting blown out of their roots as the Nothingness continues to gain speed and swallow everything in it’s path.
Will the hero save it in time?
Or will the world fall and crumble into the great Nothing and become nothing?
“Oh stop being so dramatic and snap out of it Wanda!” I say firmly scolding myself.
“Organize your thoughts.”
“Call Chris”

5:00PM I’m calling Chris.
No Answer. Well, either he has had enough of me and doesn’t want to talk to me ever again or he is out fishing having a grand old time while I am trying to salvage my last 2 hours with this email mess. Because of course, those are the only 2 possible scenerios. Now I am mad at my computer, I’m angry at myself because it is so late, I am steaming at anybody that dares to email me on a Monday when they know I’m not going to answer, and it’s all Chris’s fault because he is the computer guy!!!
So there.
I thrust myself backwards deeper into the support of the couch and fold my arms defiantly over one another.
I pout about it.
And with a frown I say “What a terrible day!”

5:15PM Wait a minute……
what is that noise? I unfold my arms and tilt my head.
Sounds almost like water running onto the carpet behind me……….
Well that’s just impossib……..… SHIT!!!!!
I leap off the couch screaming at the dog “MAX!!!!! NO!! BAAAD DOG!! STOP!!” The dog tucks his butt in fear and takes off down the hallway leaving a trail of unfinished business in his wake for the entire 20 feet. Now to truly understand the gravity of this situation you must first understand that my husband does not like the dog in the first place. And second, this is our first home together that we actually own and he is very protective over everything in it. This especially includes the condition of the carpet. Third, my husband may not have the best hearing but he has an incredible super sense of smell. This realization hits me and insues another stream of explicitives which I will once again spare the reader from.
In my anger I search the house but cannot immediately find the dog.
Smart Dog.
Then as I have a chance to take a couple deep breaths I remember that it is all my fault because hours earlier he whined to tell me he needed to go out and I got distracted and never took him. Feeling like a terrible dog mother (LOL, I guess that makes me a bitch) I slumped down to the floor. Sitting cross legged on a non-soiled section of the floor and picking at the carpet fibers I started talking to Max. “I’m sorry buddy. That was all my fault. You can come out now, I’m not mad.”
Mustering up a little cheerier voice I said “Come here Max. Come here. I still love you.”
Dogs being the over achieving people pleasing loyal and forgiving animals that they are…. Max soon came cautiously out of hiding and tentatively climbed up into my lap. Within seconds he was offering me to rub his tummy and happy to be receiving pats and praise for the peeing on the carpet incident.
(It’s a wonder I ever I got him potty trained at all)
“Let’s go for that walk I promised you earlier. I will clean up the mess as soon as we get back” I don’t have shoes on but I don’t even care at this point. I can manage barefoot. Also feeling like a bad bird mother, I give in and retrieve the bird from the bedroom cage and place her on top of the living room cage where she loves to be to watch over everything and play with her toys. I’m feeling better now about calming down and doing the right things. At least my animals are happy. Max and I head out for our walk.

5:30PM We are coming back in the house from a short happy walk when I see the clock. “Oh no!! I have to get Jacob from his Extended Studies after school program by 5:45.” I quickly take off the leash and promptly step forward into the wet squishy spot of carpet with my still bare foot. Speaking mostly to myself but somewhat to the dog too: “Damn it!!. Chris is going to be home soon and you peed all over the carpet!” I quickly grab paper towels and throw them down over the mess. Then I use up most the rest of the roll following the trail down the hallway. “Well, that will just have to do for now. The towels can soak it up while I’m gone. Once again I’m out of time and I’m late.” Grabbing some shoes I jump in the car and leave to pick up my son.

6:15PM When I return home my husband has not yet made it home. It turns out he had a quick stop to make. I think to myself, maybe this is my break and I can try to clean up and salvage the situation as best as possible. I’m feeling pretty sheepish about the potty accident and have to figure out how to explain to Chris that it is actually my fault. When I walk into the living room my jaw drops and I am now frozen. When I left in a hurry to get Jacob I broke a cardinal house rule.
Never leave the bird unattended outside her cage –
In the 25 minutes I was gone she got bored and climbed down off her cage. Piecing the wreckage together I figure she must have headed first for the paper towels that I had left. She apparently had a wonderfully entertaining time shredding them into tiny little soiled pieces and leaving them strewn about everywhere. Next she climbed up on the couch, pulled some keys off my open laptop and deficated in a number of different places along her path. Lastly she was currently enjoying a game of “Chew all the buttons off the $150, difficult to program, and hard to find Universal remote control.” Knowing her freedom was soon coming to an end she was working on all of it as quickly and as efficiently as possible.
Following the initial shock I experienced a brief moment of comical jealousy as I thought:
“Geez, If only I could get that much done in just 25 minutes.”
Just then I heard the sound of the Garage door opening and my husband was pulling in the Jeep. I didn’t know whether to run and hide like Max had previously done or throw my hands in the air and waive a white flag. At that moment I was a jumbled up mess of every emotion one could imagine. Not sure whether to laugh or cry.
My loving and ever supportive husband walks through the door and says: “Hi Honey, I’m home. I’m sorry if my called interrupted you today. Did you get it all done?”
I remained silent. I couldn’t even begin to recall what “it” even was. Let alone whether I had done it or not.
Heading from the garage through the kitchen he continued “Honey? Did you get a lot done today like you hoped?” Still I remained silent. He finished his entrance into the living room and upon observing the mess said “Oh my…… umm, how was your day?”
And that is precisely when I lost it!

CHAPTER 2
Just Call Me Crazy

The next hour is a little blurry but I know there was ranting and raving, pacing and sitting, plenty of crying and sobbing, and there were many times when even I didn’t understand half the words that were trying to come out of my mouth. It was my fault for being stupid, it was his fault for being a computer guy, it was the business fault, the emails faults, the computers fault, Max’s fault, the bird, my mothers for raising me. In fact I was pretty convinced the entire world is out to get me and make sure that I fail. My husband was mostly at a loss for words and when this happens he just stays quiet and still. I guess he figures he’ll just weather the storm. As usual, his lack of participation launches me into a monologue of how poor of a communicator he is and now my bad mood is all his fault for being such a poor communicator. “And now that we’re on that topic…..” I suddenly feel the need to continue this train of thought at 100mph pushing it straight into a full blown fight. Something deep inside wants to just let it go and hug him.
But NO!! HE should be hugging ME!!
As I stoke the fire some more…… “Whats wrong with you anyways, just sitting there? Don’t you even care about what I am going through? How can you be so silent?” “Fine.”
To myself, I think: He wants to play the silent game, we can play the silent game. I can be silent and irritating too. So I cross my arms and hunker down for the silent game. Glaring at him. But the water is boiling up inside, rising higher and higher. Reaching a critical point of combustion. Steam is coming out my ears. It has been hours that we have been sitting here like this. Well, I’m not so sure about that. Maybe minutes, maybe seconds, but that doesn’t matter! It feels like it has been hours. Fine. “You win!!” I say breaking the silence with more ranting.
My husband is probably sitting there thinking “Win what? What the hell is this crazy woman talking about now?”
Telling himself “Just don’t talk dude, you’ll only make it worse.”
Again that little part of me somewhere deep inside whispers “This is the man you love, adore, hell… you practically idolize him. Just take a deep breath, let it all go, walk over there and give him a hug. I promise you will feel so much better.”
NO! I just can’t!! I don’t know why I can’t but I just can’t!! I want to….. but I literally cannot. My brain will continue to find any piece of long buried kindling to throw on that fire to keep it going.
In fact: “look how much time this whole argument has taken!! I could have been productive working on The List this whole time but instead I am having a one way fight with you! Now I’m not getting anything done!!”
Why is he looking at me like I’m Nutts?
I am not crazy!
I wish he would just say something….. I think to myself “Boy he is lucky he didn’t grow up with MY mom. Now SHE was CRAZY!! When she was on a war path nothing and no one was stopping her. Any transgression was up for grabs. It didn’t matter how old it was, if you had already been beaten for it before, or even if it was completely imagined by her. She would use whatever she could get her mind wrapped around. Best to just flee at the first signs of the storm. No one could stop the storm once it started. No one that is but dad. He had this way of intervening if it got real bad. He would calmly and quietly walk into the room, wrap his arms around her and lovingly remove her. All the while she’s kicking and screaming.”
Seriously, if he wants to sit there and tell me, with his eyes, that I’m crazy he should have met my mother back then. Just then breaking my train of thought that little voice in my head sneaks forward again and says in secret to me “I wish he would get out of that seat and come here and hug me.”

Hmmmmmmm…………………………………………….
Ummmmm……………
Yeah………………..
That’s all I can say after re-reading and reflecting on this chapter to myself.
Guess who the crazy one really is? ME!!

FINALE
The facts of that Monday were that I did NOT finish the Monday List.
I didn’t even come close.
I couldn’t even really give you or anybody else a list of the stuff I HAD done. All I know is that I was very busy ALL day. I had started the day excited that this would be the day that I got everything done and I had every intention of working very hard to do it. I Never “slacked off” or got “lazy” and other than the 1 TV program, I didn’t even engage in anything fun or recreational.

Ironically by the end of the day the scene looked like this:
Clothes strewn all over the room into haphazard piles.
My Ice tea still in the fridge, unopened.
The Fridge still not cleaned out.
The dishes still not done.
There are un-used band-aids all over the bathroom counter.
A pizza box now randomly lays on the floor of the garage with old Pizza in it.
A Hamster food bag is half emptied and sitting on the night stand next to the fresh seal container that’s lid is not even on.
Paper towel remnants are everywhere.
Very little paper towel left.
Half the buttons missing from the remote control.
Dog pee still everywhere.
One very confused and less potty trained dog.
The first load of laundry in the washer with soap seeping into it but no one has pressed start.
My favorite pants are still dirty.
A dead spider smushed into the bedroom carpet.
I missed the mail though I was home the entire day.
The dirt ring is still around the tub.
I’m sure I probably used all the toilet paper and didn’t replace it when I spaced out in the bathroom.
My “To Do List” grew by quite a few items.
My email response to my client is probably stuck in cyber space somewhere.
My computer needs fixing.
The remote needs to be replaced.
I didn’t do whatever “it” was that Chris had called to remind me about that I’m sure was very important.
AND I got in a big fight with him when He actually didn’t do anything wrong.
Just think……. I was only trying to be Super Human and do everything right that day.

CONCLUSION
After re-reading and revising this many times, leaving it and coming back many times, I have learned a lot about myself and about this Monday. All I can do now is laugh at myself. With a big sigh I say “Well….. After 12 hours of rushing around at least the kid got picked up from ESS and the bills got paid.”
Panic strikes.
“BILLS?…. OH CRAP!! I forgot to run to the bank to deposit the checks.”
That was item #22 on The List.
Quick, check of the watch.
“Damn, It’s after 6:00pm. Banks are closed and I do not currently have enough money in the accounts to cover all those bills. “

THE END

-Update: Since originally experiencing these typical Mondays and deciding to write about them, I have now received 8 months of Neurofeedback for my ADHD and I am very proud to say that I do not suffer through my days off like this anymore. I have lower anxiety, lower stress, and I am also a MUCH better communicator to my husband. Hooray for Neurofeedback!!! I am very very thankful.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Opinionated Man
    Aug 04, 2014 @ 15:42:56

    LOL… my legs go numb from the toilet a lot. Too funny. lol

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

